Ocean Viking

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

The Ocean Viking is a search and rescue vessel chartered since April 2019 by the NGO SOS Méditerranée. It replaced the now famous Aquarius which the NGO had to part with due to numerous political and administrative blockages after having sailed the Mediterranean on board for 3 years.

I had the opportunity to cover the eleventh rotation of the Ocean Viking in the Central Mediterranean. It took place during several weeks in March 2021. It resulted in the rescue of 116 people, men, women and children fleeing Libya, who were able to be disembarked in the port of Augusta in Sicily.

According to the International Organization for Migration, more than 20,000 people have lost their lives in the Mediterranean since 2014, making this the deadliest migration route in the world.

The situation has changed significantly in the Central Mediterranean over the past decade. In 2013, the military-humanitarian operation Mare Nostrum, carried by Italy, was launched with significant resources. It was deployed following a shipwreck that cost the lives of nearly 400 people off Lampedusa. Mare Nostrum will help about 100,000 people in less than a year.  But it is coming to an end as quickly as it was deployed, leaving room for operations with far fewer resources.

In 2017, NGOs had provided 41% of rescues at sea far ahead of the Italian coast guard and Frontex operations. Since 2018, the search and rescue coordination mission previously provided by Italy has been entrusted to Libya, a country ravaged by war.

“Overall, the Libyan authorities do not relay distress calls. And when we inform them of a distress situation, they either don’t answer us, or they don’t speak English even though it is an obligation,” denounces Laurence, spokesperson for SOS Méditerranée.

It seems that Libya, the departure point for many boats, is less interested in coordinating with NGOs to save lives than in boarding boats that try to leave its area. This means a return to horror.

More than 60,000 men, women and children have been intercepted at sea and sent back to Libya since 2016. Those who are placed in detention centers are “held in inhumane, even deadly conditions,” denounces Amnesty

In total, more than 32,000 people have been rescued by SOS Méditerranée since its creation in 2015.

Publications available here

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Ocean Viking

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

L’Ocean Viking est un navire de recherche et de sauvetage en mer affrété depuis le mois d’avril 2019 par l’ONG SOS Méditerranée. Il a remplacé le désormais célèbre Aquarius dont l’ONG a dû se séparer suite à de nombreux blocages politiques et administratifs après avoir sillonné la Méditerranée à son bord 3 années durant.

J’ai eu l’occasion de couvrir la onzième rotation en Méditerranée Centrale de l’Ocean Viking. Elle s’est déroulée pendant plusieurs semaines au mois de mars 2021. Elle a donné lieu au sauvetage de 116 personnes, hommes, femmes et enfants fuyant la Libye, qui ont pu être débarquées dans le port d’Augusta en Sicile.

Selon l’Organisation Internationale pour les Migrations, plus de 20 000 personnes ont perdu la vie en Méditerranée depuis 2014, faisant de cette route migratoire la plus mortelle au monde.

La situation a beaucoup évolué en Méditerranée Centrale au cours de la dernière décennie. En 2013, l’opération militaro-humanitaire Mare Nostrum, portée par l’Italie est lancée avec d’importants moyens. Elle est déployée suite à un naufrage qui a coûté la vie à près de 400 personnes au large de Lampedusa. Mare Nostrum permettra de porter secours à environ 100 000 personnes en moins d’un an.  Mais elle s’interrompt aussi vite qu’elle a été déployée et laisse la place à des opérations aux moyens bien moindres.

En 2017, les ONG avaient assuré 41 % des sauvetages en mer loin devant les garde-côtes italiens et les opérations de Frontex. Depuis 2018, la mission de coordination de recherche et de sauvetage assurée jusqu’alors par l’Italie a été confiée à la Libye, pays ravagé par la guerre.

« Globalement, les autorités libyennes ne relayent pas les appels de détresse. Et quand nous les informons d’une situation de détresse, soit elles ne nous répondent pas, soit elles ne parlent pas anglais alors que c’est une obligation », dénonce Laurence, porte-parole de SOS Méditerranée.

Il semble en effet que la Libye, point de départ de nombreuses embarcations, vise moins à se coordonner avec les ONG pour sauver des vies qu’à arraisonner les embarcations qui essaient de quitter sa zone. Ce qui signifie un retour vers l’horreur.

Plus de 60 000 hommes, femmes et enfants ont été interceptés en mer et renvoyés en Libye depuis 2016. Celles et ceux qui sont placés dans des centres de rétention sont « détenus dans des conditions inhumaines, voir mortellement dangereuses », dénonce Amnesty

Au total, ce sont plus de 32000 personnes qui ont été secourues par SOS Méditerranée depuis sa création en 2015.

 

Publications visibles ici

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.